Faiths for a Just Energy Transition

September 28, 2022

In support of the Fossil Fuel Non-Proliferation Treaty, people of faith from around the world joined together to hear keynotes by Rev. P. Joshtrom Isaac Kureethadam SDB, Imam Zaid Shakir, and Mr. Peter Aburi. Prayers and chants were led by Rabbi Laura Bellows, Ms.Sujata Kotamraju, Sheikh Yussuf Nassur, and Rev. Fletcher Harper.

Additional presentations were led by Mon. Jorge Lozano, Mrs. Karuna Singh, and Ms. Frances Nmoumou. Co-hosted by Catholic University in East Africa, Laudato Si Movement, Supreme Council of Kenya Muslims, and GreenFaith. Endorsed by Islamic Society of North America, Islamic University in Uganda, Earth Day India, Parliament of World Religions.


Land Acknowledgment

The Parliament of the World's Religions acknowledges it is situated on the traditional homelands of the Bodéwadmik (Potawatomi), Hoocąk (Winnebago/Ho’Chunk), Jiwere (Otoe), Nutachi (Missouria), and Baxoje (Iowas); Kiash Matchitiwuk (Menominee); Meshkwahkîha (Meskwaki); Asâkîwaki (Sauk); Myaamiaki (Miami), Waayaahtanwaki (Wea), and Peeyankihšiaki (Piankashaw); Kiikaapoi (Kickapoo); Inoka (Illini Confederacy); Anishinaabeg (Ojibwe), and Odawak (Odawa).

PoWR recognizes the region we now call Chicago remains home to a diversity of Indigenous peoples today and this land upon which we walk, live, and play continues to be Indigenous land.

© Parliament of the World’s Religions 

® Parliament of the World's Religions name and logo are trademarks of the Parliament of the World's Religions.