1st Assembly on Women, Faith, and Diplomacy

November 19, 2020

From 10-13 November 2020,  thousands of representatives from the world’s religions gathered virtually with government, civil society, and multilateral institution leaders for the 1st Assembly on Women, Faith, and Diplomacy hosted by Religions for Peace and Ring for Peace.

On Tuesday, November 10th the Assembly opened with special remarks from Dr. Angela Merkel, Federal Chancellor, Federal Republic of Germany; H.E. António Guterres, Secretary-General of the United Nations; Prof. Azza Karam, Secretary-General of Religions for Peace; and His Eminence Metropolitan Emmanuel of France. What followed were a series of inspiring plenaries, prayers and meditations, virtual coffee breaks, and interactive breakout sessions. Explore the full program below!

This historic Assembly featured global leaders as part of plenaries on Redefining Leadership, Advancing Gender Equality – Women in Diplomacy, Combatting Hate Speech as Cornerstone of Conflict Prevention, Values-Inspired Education,  and Keeping Faith by Nurturing a Sustainable Environment: The role of Religious Leaders to protect the Earth. The last plenary featured the participation of Parliament Chair, Audrey Kitagawa, and Climate Action Task Force Member, Maru-Evelyn Tucker. Watch the full program below.

Watch Now!

Land Acknowledgment

The Parliament of the World's Religions acknowledges it is situated on the traditional homelands of the Bodéwadmik (Potawatomi), Hoocąk (Winnebago/Ho’Chunk), Jiwere (Otoe), Nutachi (Missouria), and Baxoje (Iowas); Kiash Matchitiwuk (Menominee); Meshkwahkîha (Meskwaki); Asâkîwaki (Sauk); Myaamiaki (Miami), Waayaahtanwaki (Wea), and Peeyankihšiaki (Piankashaw); Kiikaapoi (Kickapoo); Inoka (Illini Confederacy); Anishinaabeg (Ojibwe), and Odawak (Odawa).

PoWR recognizes the region we now call Chicago remains home to a diversity of Indigenous peoples today and this land upon which we walk, live, and play continues to be Indigenous land.

© Parliament of the World’s Religions 

® Parliament of the World's Religions name and logo are trademarks of the Parliament of the World's Religions.