Accessibility Tools

Skip to main content

In Memoriam: His Holiness Pope Benedict XVI

January 1, 2023

Image Source: M.Mazur/ via Flickr

The Parliament of the World’s Religions extends our heartfelt condolences on the passing of His Holiness Pope Benedict XVI, who served as the 265th Pope of the Roman Catholic Church.

According to the official biography from the Vatican, Joseph Ratzinger (Pope Benedict XVI) was born on 16 April 1927 in Marktl am Inn, Germany. From 1946 to 1951, he studied philosophy and theology at the University of Munich and at the higher school in Freising. He was ordained as a priest in 1951 at the Cathedral at Freising. Fr. Ratzinger was appointed Cardinal by Pope Paul VI in the Consistory of 1977, of the Titles of the Suburbicarian Church of Velletri-Segni and Suburbicarian Church of Ostia. In 1981 he was appointed by Pope John Paul II as Prefect of the Congregation for the Doctrine of the Faith. He also became President of the Biblical Commission and of the Pontifical International Theological Commission. Cardinal Ratzinger was a Member of the Council of the Second Section of the Secretariat of State; of the Congregations: for the Oriental Churches, for Divine Worship and the Discipline of the Sacraments, for Bishops, for the Evangelization of Peoples, for Catholic Education, as well as for the Pontifical Council for Promoting Christian Unity and of the Pontifical Commission for Latin America and the Pontifical Commission Ecclesia Dei. In 2005 Cardinal Joseph Ratzinger was elected the 265th Pontiff of the Roman Catholic Church, selecting the name Benedict XVI.

His Holiness is remembered in the global interfaith movement for his steadfast commitment to interreligious dialogue. We join his family, the global Catholic community, and the global interfaith movement in mourning. May he rest in peace.