Religions for Peace Honors Parliament and URI Leadership with Honorary Title

September 11, 2019

The 10th World Assembly was a historic gathering for Religions for Peace (RFP) and more broadly the global interfaith movement. As was previously reported, Prof. Azza Karam was selected as the new Secretary General of Religions for Peace, making her the first woman to be selected for this critical leadership role within the organization.
As the Assembly came to a close in August, RFP representatives voted for another historic appointment, one especially important for the future of cooperation between three of the most prominent global interfaith organizations.
Parliament of the World’s Religions Chair, Audrey Kitagawa, and the Executive Director of United Religions Initiative (URI), the Rev. Victory Kazanjian, were nominated and elected as Honorary Presidents of Religions for Peace by 700 voting delegates, representing the world’s major religious traditions, affiliated national and regional interreligious councils, women of faith and interfaith youth networks from across 125 countries at the Religions for Peace 10th World Assembly in Lindau, Germany.
In the past, Religions for Peace representatives have selected a diverse group of Honorary Presidents among them Rev. Farida Ali, H.B. Anastasios, H.E. Dr. Mustafa Ceric, and H.E. Timothy Cardinal Dolan to name a few (See a complete list at Acting Secretary General, Rev. Kyoichi Sugino, and Secretary General-Elect, Prof. Azza Karam, presented the honorary title to Rev. Kazanjian and Ms. Kitagawa at the conclusion of the Assembly. The Parliament of the World’s Religions is honored by this historic appointment and the recognition of the exceptional leadership of our Chair.
Religions for Peace will be celebrating their 50th Anniversary in 2020 and this honorary appointment is one aspect of their ongoing efforts to deepen the impact of the shared mission between the Parliament and URI.
Read more on this historic appointment from United Religions Initiative here.


Land Acknowledgment

The Parliament of the World's Religions acknowledges it is situated on the traditional homelands of the Bodéwadmik (Potawatomi), Hoocąk (Winnebago/Ho’Chunk), Jiwere (Otoe), Nutachi (Missouria), and Baxoje (Iowas); Kiash Matchitiwuk (Menominee); Meshkwahkîha (Meskwaki); Asâkîwaki (Sauk); Myaamiaki (Miami), Waayaahtanwaki (Wea), and Peeyankihšiaki (Piankashaw); Kiikaapoi (Kickapoo); Inoka (Illini Confederacy); Anishinaabeg (Ojibwe), and Odawak (Odawa).

PoWR recognizes the region we now call Chicago remains home to a diversity of Indigenous peoples today and this land upon which we walk, live, and play continues to be Indigenous land.

© Parliament of the World’s Religions 

® Parliament of the World's Religions name and logo are trademarks of the Parliament of the World's Religions.